Weekly Music Review #1

Okay, so I’m starting this new weekly blog post called ‘Weekly Music Review’.  Essentially, I’ll be putting up music I’ve been listening to for the past week. I’ll try and include a track from the album, but if someone wants the whole album, they can just mail me (at the address set up in my “About” page).

FLORENCE AND THE MACHINE – LUNGS

Another UK songwriter, somewhat in the mould of Bat For Lashes, but far more ostentatious. She’s a phenomenal vocalist, but at times her album does suffer from overproduction. That’s understandable though, since it’s full of dulcimers, theremins, harps, violas and so on; the proverbial kitchen sink really. When things do come together though, on Rabbit Heart, Cosmic Love and Binding, for example, it’s truly remarkable.

Florence And The Machine – Rabbit Heart (Raise It Up)

THE ANTLERS – HOSPICE


Shoegaze meets Ambient meets folk – think Slowdive + Tim Hecker + Justin Vernon. A concept album by large, about the passing away of a cancer-ridden love/friend, Hospice seems built for unnecessary, over the top mush. But it really, really, isn’t. It’s as heart-wrenching as it is honest, helped remarkably by Peter Silberman’s delivery (by way of a falsetto).

The Antlers – Kettering

The Antlers – Two

MAGNOLIA ELECTRIC CO. – JOSEPHINE

Another record that deals, in a way, with death. Magnolia Electric Co is predominantly the workhorse of Jason Molina, a ridiculously talented singer-songwriter who probably has one of the most emotive voices I’ve ever heard. While Josephine was in a creative womb, Molina’s friend and co-songwriter Evan Farrell passed away. Josephine is the tribute, though with two sides. The first side of the album is more uptempo and hopeful – focused on a lingering happiness. The second half is more melancholy, more sombre, and this is where for me Molina just seems to shine. Josephine is really an astonishing album, and probably his best Magnolia Electric Co work. If you like his voice, and the latter part of Josephine, be sure to check out his earlier project, Songs: Ohia – it’s one of my favourite acts ever.

Magnolia Electric Co. – Heartbreak At Ten Paces

Anyway, that’s it for this week. If you like any of the albums, hit me up at refnulfATgmailDOTcom, and I’ll try and see what I can do for you.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Music Review #1

  1. I’ve liked some Florence and the Machine tracks a lot, and disliked plenty of others. I love complaining about overproduction; with a voice like that is all the other stuff really necessary? Uncommon instrumentation though, I guess in that respect she’s a lot like Bat For Lashes.

  2. Yeah, but Bat for Lashes knows restraint which is one of the reasons I really love her stuff. I think Florence is trying a bit too hard with the overproduction though – she can still sound brilliant without a whole host of kitchen utensils banging around her.

Leave a Reply

