Hemingway and the six word story

I’m not a big Hemingway fan. For some reason or another, his disjointed literary style really grates me. I’m not saying he’s a shit author, or simply because he, as Faulkner said, “He has never been known to use a word that might send a reader to the dictionary.” Far from it, in fact, because here I side firmly with Hemingway. It’s just that I can’t get past his unique writing style.

Anyway, as the story goes, Hemingway was once in a bar dared to write the fabled six word story. This is what he came up with:

“For Sale: Baby shoes, never worn.”

That is simply stunning.

4 thoughts on “Hemingway and the six word story

  1. I just can’t seem to get past a couple dozen pages of anything he’s even written. God knows I’ve tried reading different things but still.

    Either way, he’ll always have my respect for this. His attempt has yet to be mastered, especially when you see the amount of great names who’ve had a go at it and have failed considerably short of Hemingway’s sublime effort.

Leave a Reply

