Frabbit

So I was trolling youtube yesterday, trying to find any pieces of Frightened Rabbit’s new album, ‘The Winter of Mixed Drinks.’ Amongst other things, I found a couple of songs that I’d already heard, and a 10 minute video that had around 1 min clips of all the songs on the album. A teaser, if you will.

Anyway, I also found a song they did for christmas called ‘Walking In The Air‘, which happens to be a cover of a song for a children’s made-for-tv short film called ‘The Snowman‘.

Anyway, here’s the original:

I’ll be honest, I got the goosebumps when I heard this. I don’t know whether it’s just the song, or the frankly, outrageously brilliant imagery, but it’s quite simply amazing. The song itself has a very weird atmosphere to it; it’s not entirely jovial and neither does it have the feeling of a wide-eyed boy. In fact, it almost certainly has this very eerily quality to it. Maybe that’s what makes listening to it so visceral. Either way, it’s a phenomenal piece of music.

Here’s Frightened Rabbit’s cover of it, which in my opinion is astonishing in its own right:

2 thoughts on “Frabbit

Leave a Reply

